About Us

Our buildings

With nearly 5,000 suites throughout Winnipeg, Edison is your partner at home. With apartments for rent ranging from cozy and comfortable bachelor apartments to luxurious penthouse suites, Edison Properties has something for everybody.

All of our apartment buildings have dedicated on-site management, as well as a 24-hour emergency line to ensure assistance is available 24 hours a day, 365 days a year. Our caretaking and maintenance staff work hard to keep our properties – and your suite – looking their best so you can be proud of your home.

A number of our 55+ properties offer optional personal services such as meal programs, weekly grocery shopping trips, organized recreational events, and on-site health resources through the properties' seniors clubs, or alternatively the Winnipeg Regional Health Authority.

Our history

Edison Properties originated in 1962 when Martin Bergen formed the Marlborough Development Corporation Ltd. MDC built several apartment blocks in Winnipeg. Its first large venture was the 100-suite General Grant building, built in 1964.

While Mr. Bergen was a pioneer and an innovator in his field, he was, first and foremost, a survivor. He persevered through the loss of his father at a young age, his time as a prisoner of war during the Second World War, and arriving in Canada indebted for his ship’s passage from Europe.

He worked his way up with hard work and determination, from contracting drywall and painting jobs to constructing the apartment blocks that now represent the cornerstone of Winnipeg’s rental landscape. His company acieved a number of firsts - it was first to construct an all-electric building and the first in Canada to utilize pre-cast, hollow-core floor construction for the L&B Towers. The Oakland Gardens project in 1978 was constructed entirely of pre-cast units craned into position.

By 1970, MDC was the largest developer of multi-family housing in Manitoba. The Edison Rental Agency was subsequently created by Mr. Bergen to manage the increasing number of apartment blocks.

The largest project undertaken by Mr. Bergen is Fort Garry Place, a three-tower development in the heart of Winnipeg. The mixed-use property includes offices, apartments, cafés, a grocery store, and Winnipeg's only revolving restaurant. Mr. Bergen’s daughter, Miriam, is currently president of Edison and carries on the family tradition of property development with the construction of Ruth Gardens, a large mixed-use residential and commercial complex in North Kildonan. Fully completed in April 2015, this exciting development is reflected in the change of name to Edison Properties.

Our people

People, not buildings, are at the heart of Edison Properties. This is made evident by Mr. Bergen’s strong belief in giving back to the country and community which has given him an opportunity to build a better life. Always approachable, honest and fair, Mr. Bergen build a foundation of integrity at the core of everything Edison does. Throughout his lifetime, Mr. Bergen always gave generously to his community; an example which Edison has preserved right down to a holiday gift, given to every tenant of each building. The values set forth by Mr. Bergen's legacy are those embraced by the company and staff today.

Get in Touch

For general inquiries, please contact our office at 204-940-3450.

Edison Properties Senior Management Team:

Miriam Bergen - President

Frank Koch-Schulte - Vice President
FrankK@edisonproperties.ca

Judy Wakefield - Director of Finance
JudyW@edisonproperties.ca

Susan Dudar - Controller
Susan@edisonproperties.ca
 
Diane Bennett - Residential Property Manager
DianeB@edisonproperties.ca
 
Kris Buhrer - Residential Property Manager
KrisB@edisonproperties.ca
 
Jerrit Janzen - Commercial Property Manager
JerritJ@edisonproperties.ca
 
Hildor Wiens - Project Manager
HildorW@edisonproperties.ca
 
Paul Bedard - Operations Manager
PaulB@edisonproperties.ca
 

Edison Properties Office Staff:

Kelly Anderson - Accounts Receivable
KellyA@edisonproperties.ca

Ednalyn Ballelos - Accounts Payable
EdnalynB@edisonproperties.ca

Brad Enns - Maintenance Manager (north side buildings)
BradE@edisonproperties.ca

Kim Keller - Office Assistant
KimK@EdisonProperties.ca

Denis Friesen - Maintenance Manager (south side buildings)
Denis@EdisonProperties.ca

Caroline Kaus - Purchasing
CarolineK@edisonproperties.ca

Jay Kulyk - Maintenance Manager (central buildings)
JayK@edisonproperties.ca

Jane Liu - Property Accountant
JaneL@edisonproperties.ca

Leony Parcero - Commercial Leasing Assistant
LeonyP@edisonproperties.ca

Dana Patenaude - Payroll & Human Resources
DanaP@edisonproperties.ca

Berni Plett - Safety and PM Coordinator
BerniP@edisonproperties.ca

Camille Silver - Residential Leasing Assistant
CamilleS@edisonproperites.ca

Wendy Strewchuk - Reception Desk
WendyS@EdisonProperties.ca

Hans Thiessen - Quality Control Manager
HansT@edisonproperties.ca

Paula Woloshyn - Leasing Coordinator
PaulaW@edisonproperties.ca